Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree3Likes
  1.    #1  
    hello,

im new to precentral and was lucky enough to get hold of a touchpad in the sale.

over the last week i have been keeping an eye on touchpad / HP related news and have become bothered by some articles written by Bill Palmer at beatweek magazine. it just seems wrong that people searching for information on touchpads are lickly to read his biased dribble.

Worthless HP TouchPad tablet assumes role as 21st century Dutch tulip

Whatever value the HP TouchPad did or didnít have prior to its discontinuation, it has essentially none now. Running an operating system which is officially out of development, with no feature, future compatibility, or security updates forthcoming, the TouchPad faces a future in which zero third party apps are released, accessories canít be found, and technical support will be difficult to find. Yet the surreal retail run on the dead tablet after its $499 price was slashed to $99 has positioned the TouchPad, for a few minutes at least, as the Dutch tulip of the twenty-first century.

Centuries ago, tulip bulbs were being purchased and then flipped at progressively higher values which had no correlation to their value as a craze sent buyers and sellers into hysteria. Eventually it was realized that the tulips had little real value in comparison to the prices, and the bottom fell out of the market. The HP TouchPad isnít quite in the same boat, as it was only a severe price discount which set off the buying craze, and even with that itís been a comparatively small one. Still, some folks are buying up TouchPads at $99 so they can sell them to auction buyers who will pay three times that. The buyers, of course, donít really want the TouchPad for their own use. Rather theyíve convinced themselves that theyíll somehow manage to flip it for even more than what they paidÖ