1.    #1  
    Most of the movie files I have are in AVI format, and to my understanding the TouchPad only plays MP4 files.

Any way around this?

I can convert the files on my PC before transferring using Handbrake, but a lot of the quality is lost and it's kind of a pain to do so anyways.
    Global Posts
    71 Global Posts
    This is a drive-by reply here since I have very little experience, but try Touchplayer from preware. I tested it a few times and it worked wonders with the .avi I had.
  3.    #3  
    Awesome. It'd be great if this works since pretty much every video file I have is an AVI.
    Global Posts
    107 Global Posts
    KalemSoft - Products

KalemSoft Media Player v0.3.7 is the best video player for the TouchPad right now. It has the smoothest playback. The demo version works but won't let you play local files if not connected to the internet.
    I converted an old .MOV file to an MP4 using homebrew (took over 2 hours), moved it to my TP to play it using TOUCHPLAYER. When it is selected, nothing happens. I see the time/play bar but nothing else. I tried two 10 minute MOV files (converted to MP4) and they work fine.

anyone else try a 1 hr video?

Oh, and the 55 min VIDEO file is over 2gb
    Global Posts
    107 Global Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by russ399 View Post
    http://forums.precentral.net/hp-touc...ml#post3100065
    all my videos are in avi format too, but i have added orb to my pc and am streaming them direct to my hp touchpad wirelessly if that helps anyone for now.
    Quote Originally Posted by russ399 View Post
    I converted an old .MOV file to an MP4 using homebrew (took over 2 hours), moved it to my TP to play it using TOUCHPLAYER. When it is selected, nothing happens. I see the time/play bar but nothing else. I tried two 10 minute MOV files (converted to MP4) and they work fine.

anyone else try a 1 hr video?