Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By Rickybaby
  1.    #1  
    So I've greatly improved the speed of my new TouchPad with Preware patches alone. I'm completely content with the speed, but I guess if it can be overclocked why not? I'm a newb though, can overclocking overheat/mess up my hardware?

Thanks!
    From a long time overclocker in the PC arena the risks are minimal if you are reasonable. First is stability. If you push too far you will get random crashes of apps. Lesson: learn the limits. Second is heat buildup: the faster you go the more heat you generate. If you bump up the processor voltage you can go even faster and generate even more heat. Since tablets are sealed devices with no external fans this could be a problem. See first, be reasonable. There is another argument which I don't buy and never have. Running your processor outside its rated limits will reduce the lifetime of your device. OK, instead of lasting 10 years it will only last 8. Realistically do you think you will still be running this device in 8 years? When processors are 200 times faster? I don't buy it. Overclock like mad !!!

Oh there is one other effect and that is using the charge in the battery up faster. I have heard that this is not a big problem when overclocking the touchpad because the processor ramps down to a power saver mode as soon as it has nothing to do. Which under normal usage is most of the time.
    fxspec06 likes this.
    Global Posts
    37 Global Posts
    overclock is easy to do any makes computer zippy. 1.5ghz is not even a sweat for the Touchpad. BAttery life seems good still with on-demand setting.
    well anything under 2.0ghz should be fine I heard there is a 2.2 in the works might not be stable, 1.7 sure is.

Second the reason webos lags it's mainly software related to webos, it's just not optimized for the hardware. I mean 1.2 dual core with a gig of ram and it lags that's definite software. Hopefully HP will update and tweak but I don't know why they would