Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. Newcron's Avatar
    Posts
    60 Posts
    Global Posts
    71 Global Posts
       #1  
    My TP (32 GB) won't arrive until Monday or Tuesday, and today the one I ordered for a friend (16 GB) arrived although he won't be visiting until next weekend. I'm really itching to play with the TP during this weekend and obviously my only option is to fire up the 16 GB, but apparently I have to link it to a webOS account to even try it out.

    What I want is to be able to test it out, update to 3.0.2 and maybe install Preware, etc. but then remove my webOS account completely so my friend can then register the next time he turns it on and put his own account on the TP.

    I googled around and found the option to Full Erase/Secure Full Erase. Will these options work for this purpose? This sounds like a hard reset for me, which means it removes the update as well. Do I have any other options?

    Thanks.
  2. #2  
    Your only option will be to perform a full erase if you log into the TP. The TouchPad wasn't designed for multiple user accounts. All the Synergy accounts and apps that are linked to your profile will just take up space if there were multiple user accounts on there. Hope this helps!
  3. #3  
    Full erase should do the trick. WebOS doctor works too.
  4. Newcron's Avatar
    Posts
    60 Posts
    Global Posts
    71 Global Posts
       #4  
    Thanks guys!
  5. #5  
    You're welcome!
  6. #6  
    FWIW, the full erase will NOT get rid of 3.0.2, so you're safe there.
    Palm III-->Handspring Visor-->Sony Clie PEG-NR70-->no PDA -->Palm Treo 755p-->Palm Pre-->HP Veer
  7. #7  
    I think there is a 2nd easier option, if you go to:

    https://ps.palmws.com/palmcsext/cons...oginPage.iface

    login with the account on the device, remove the device in question from your account! You have remove the account from your device!
  8. #8  
    Quote Originally Posted by Shadowpuppetx View Post
    I think there is a 2nd easier option, if you go to:

    https://ps.palmws.com/palmcsext/cons...oginPage.iface

    login with the account on the device, remove the device in question from your account! You have remove the account from your device!
    Possibly, but a bad idea if you are running a webOS phone since your TouchPad and webOS phone share the same profile. If you delete it from your Manage My Accounts page, it will be deleted from both devices and you will lose everything on your phone too. Gone.



    Network Moderator | Mobile Nations Rules
  9. #9  
    Quote Originally Posted by Shadowpuppetx View Post
    I think there is a 2nd easier option, if you go to:

    https://ps.palmws.com/palmcsext/cons...oginPage.iface

    login with the account on the device, remove the device in question from your account! You have remove the account from your device!
    And it will wipe the device as well, if it's connected to the Internet.
  10. #10  
    I tried to log in to my account but web page won't load: https://ps.palmws.com/palmcsext/cons...oginPage.iface

    The account app on my Pre2 phone has a grey icon to "change login settings" and a red icon to "remove account." However, the icons are grayed out.,

    Twice, I did a hard erase and incurred data charges to set up my profile again. However, the same problems. Can't delete profile in account apps.

    Also I cannot change "Use account with". Be default, profile uses contacts, calendar, tasks, memos, phone and messaging, I cannot switch the on to the off on these.
  11. daver61's Avatar
    Posts
    10 Posts
    Global Posts
    11 Global Posts
    #11  
    Just curious why OP would want to erase it?

Posting Permissions