1.    #1  
    I purchased a Touchpad this week during the firesale, so I am new to the WebOS community. I am coming from Android, love the openness but hate the risk with my Motorola. I have wanted to enter the Linux world for quite some time but did not know where to start.

I bought this TouchPad thinking that it would be a cheap web browsing tablet but found it to be my gateway to a non-windows world.

My question is can anyone recommend any resources for me to learn this OS. Especially when related to the mobile version? I would like to understand this platform more. I am sad that I jumped on this platform so late.

Please help.
    webosinternals.org

Welcome!
    Quote Originally Posted by grappler View Post
    webosinternals.org

Welcome!
    you forgot the dash.

Main Page - WebOS Internals
    Are you asking more of "How do I use WebOS?" or moreso "How do I unleash the most potential out of it"?
    For example, are you asking more "How do Cards work and how do I operate them?" or "How do I install Patches to improve performance/customize my WebOS?"

As for you mentioning how you didn't know how to get started with Linux... WebOS probably isn't too relevant in that regard, as it's very much altered compared to anything that resembles a standard Linux experience - you'll only start seeing the Linux influence once you dig in with homebrew and such. However, if you want to give Linux a whirl on the PC for starters, I would seriously suggest to go and download a ISO of Ubuntu, a well developed and newbie friendly distro. You can burn it on a CD/DVD and boot into the LiveCD without ever touching your Windows HDD past that; it's really easy and pretty much risk-free, as the only issue with getting into Ubuntu at that point is maybe changing a BIOs setting that'd let you boot into CD before booting into HDD.