Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Like Tree45Likes
  1.    #1  
    With all the bad news out there and a multitude of threads here showing people abandoning WebOS, I'm taking another tack:

I'm keeping my Touchpad. I like it. Its not perfect, but so far, I've got it synching really well with my Box.net account, my Pre2, my Mac desktop and my Mac laptop. I've got a decent suite of apps, most of which I've been using on my Pre2 for a while, but some new ones I really like (JustDraw is great, I'm an architect).

I'm also keeping my Sprint Frankenpre2. I'm also on the lookout for another Pre2 to get my wife on (whose currently using my original Pre-).

I don't turn over my technology very fast, I tend to use the ***** out of something until it dies. I really like the WebOS experience, and I have no problem operating independently. I ran my Treo 650 for 4.5 years.

By the time my Touchpad and my Pre2 are ready to be retired, or the software is really hindering my ability to perform on the go, I'm hoping there will be more clarity in the tablet market.

iOS is not the direction I want to go. I wish Apple had bought Palm and incorporated WebOS's multi-tasking abilities into iOS. Now that WebOS is terminal, I think there will be less pressure on Apple to create a true multi-tasking platform.

I was in a meeting with a commercial broker last week. I was showing him a slideshow of my firm's architectural work and we started talking about some of our clients. I swiped up and brought up a browser window and went to a client's website. I swiped up again and brought up a map window showing a potential piece of land I had in mind for this client. I was then able to swipe over to my slide show and give examples of architectural style I had in mind. Swipe to the browser again to show some details of the client. Not really elegant on iOS. The broker was impressed, and even though I told him it was a Touchpad, I'm sure he just figured that the iPad could do that too.