Like Tree5Likes
  • 1 Post By toasterthegamer
  • 3 Post By Sanjay
  • 1 Post By examancer
  1.    #1  
    I'm well past any return period. I paid full launch price. I'm obviously upset that this fantastic platform will probably never receive the updates it still desperately needs to make a great tablet.

WebOS 3 is still rough around the edges, and now we know those edges probably aren't going to get smoothed. Even if someone buys up WebOS and carries the banner forward they have no incentive to support this discontinued product and will likely only support future products they might slap WebOS onto.

What else is all this hardware good for? I can't accept that a 1.2ghz dual-core tablet with a FANTASTIC screen is just useless! There must be something we can do with them.

I dare ask... is Android 3.0 porting a possibility??! What about something else like Ubuntu, Meego, or some other operating system?

I'm a programmer and linux user, but not really knowledgeable on the low-level stuff. Anyone know where we can start down the OtherOS road?
    Global Posts
    152 Global Posts
    Ubuntu
    Quote Originally Posted by rksand View Post
    Ubuntu
    Might have to give ubuntu on TP a try. Or Android if its possible to port.
    It seems to me that webOS will get updates, just HP isn't interested in selling any NEW webOS devices and instead wants to focus on licensing webOS to other hardware makers. Isn't this what people wanted anyways?
    dabombcra likes this.
    Quote Originally Posted by toasterthegamer View Post
    It seems to me that webOS will get updates, just HP isn't interested in selling any NEW webOS devices and instead wants to focus on licensing webOS to other hardware makers. Isn't this what people wanted anyways?
    How long do you think that will last? Are they going to continue to spend money beyond any update that they may or may not already be working on when it will cost them money, and earn them none?