Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Like Tree12Likes
  1.    #1  
    Been playing with my new Touchpad for a few days now, generally speaking love it to death. The card metaphor is rockin' my world. Unlike other folks I've had no issues with pdfs, and I don't really care about fingerprints. However, one really big gripe I have is how picky the Touchpad is about which video formats it will play. I have all these downloaded videos of my favourite TV shows in .avi format (I know .avi is a container, but I'm not tech savvy enough to know exactly which codec the files really are...maybe Xvid?) and they will not play with conversion.

I thought the Touchpad is supposed to be an all-in-one media playground. Even my little cell phone (blackberry Torch) will play any of my .avi TV show video files without conversion or hassle. This mighty pad cannot do that? I have to painstakingly convert the files to mpeg4 with Handbrake? It works but it is a pain! And I don't feel like shelling out another $7 for that one app that plays all the video codecs (KalemSoft or something?). It should have come with the TP. Honestly I wish HP just made a deal with Microsoft and shipped TP with a version of Windows Media Player or something. This is bogus. I bet the videos would play on the Blackberry Playbook (although I don't actually know). I kinda hate apple so I would never buy an iPad but this is the only thing that makes me sorta wish I went with the Playbook. However, that said I enjoy the bigger screen and WebOs so I will endure it but this is an area of gripe for me.
    Well, people argue that touchpad is a business tablet.

Multimedia isn't outstanding, or even above average on touchpad. At least video player got some fix after 3.0.2.

Maybe try going through app catalog.
  3.    #3  
    Business!? Now someone tells me! Lol I bought this thing to be a toy.