Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree12Likes
  1.    #1  
    Hi i am new to the whole WebOS thing.

I have a touchpad and I was wondering what exactly Preware is? And can it harm the touchpad?

Thanks!
    rot likes this.
    Take a look at the Preware Homebrew Documentation app in the App Catalog.
    vasekvi likes this.
    Plenty to read about Preware. Personally, I wouldn't do without it.

http://forums.precentral.net/webos-i...ml#post2442795

Application:Preware - WebOS Internals
    Last edited by bevcraw; 08/13/2011 at 08:25 AM.
  4.    #4  
    Also I heard if you have preware on the touchpad that you can download apps for free. Is that true?
    Can't say I know how about that, nor would these forums be the place to ask, really. People here prefer to support those devs who have nicely given our small corner of the smartphone world any attention.

But are plenty of free homebrew patches and utilities to be found in Preware (none you specifically have to pay for, in fact). You'll have a good time with those.
    Tatobest likes this.
    I will say that you should have no worries. I was hesitant at first also, since my Touchpad is my very first webOS device, and one of my heftiest "want" purchases. I followed the instructions I found online, double checking every step and simply hoping that nothing evil would happen. I was very afraid throughout. It turns out that it's as simple as installing an app from your computer. Even if that isn't as easy as using the device, your computer does most of the things. The part of the Touchpad is to get a file and run it.
    vasekvi likes this.