Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By ggendel
    Global Posts
    6 Global Posts
    Hi,

Total newbie here. Just picked up a Touchpad off our local Craigslist yesterday and just trying to figure some stuff out.

I'm heavily into all things Google (GMail, Reader, Voice, Music, etc.). I have an Android phone but am also a big Apple guy, having only used Macs since I was in middle school (I'm 40 years old).

I've had and sold/returned Android tablets including the Galaxy Tab 10.1, HTC Flyer, etc. I have an iPad 2, but it's mainly used by my kids. Although the Android tablets are nice, they are essentially just bigger versions of my phone (albeit running Honeycomb OS instead of Gingerbread that's on my phone).

For these reasons, I wanted to try out the Touchpad and found a good deal on CL, so I bit.

Now, I'm wondering what's the best way to use GMail on the touchpad? I know in iOS, Google actually recommends that one set up GMail using the Exchange Server setting in iOS rather than the pre-configured "GMail" setting that iOS provides.

I tried to do the same thing on the Touchpad, but it seems that it basically just creates a GMail/Google account in the same manner as if one had just picked the pre-configured GMail/Google option.

I have many "aliases" set up with my GMail account so I can send emails out making them appear as if they have come from different addresses (for personal, work, Craigslist deals, etc.). It seems that the Touchpad GMail doesn't allow this. I can only send out emails using the email address that is part of the Google account that I added to the Touchpad.

Although not ideal, I decided to just log into my GMail on the web browser, but I'm having issues with that as well. It doesn't load the whole page. The little progress bar at the top basically stops about 90% across and my whole GMail page doesn't come through. Same holds through for Reader, etc.