webOS Nation Forums >  webOS Devices >  HP TouchPad > Simple steps to install WebOSQuickInstaller / Preware on TouchPad.
Simple steps to install WebOSQuickInstaller / Preware on TouchPad.
Like Tree42Likes

Old 07/27/2011, 05:30 AM   #1 (permalink)

Simple Steps Guide to install WOSQI / Preware on TouchPad

Since there seems to be a bit of confusion by new users and to prevent this from occuring, on my part in the future, I am deferring to the following sources for the installation of WebOSQuickInstall (WOSQI) and Preware:

[Click Here].. 99˘.. "WOSQI Homebrew Guide" by Jason Robitaille
.........................99˘.. "Preware Homebrew Documentation" by Rod Whitby

........................... Has this helped you?... Just Click ."Thanks!" .button below..V

Last edited by JCPDX; 09/17/2011 at 03:28 PM.
JCPDX is offline   Reply With Quote
Liked by D0lphin, toaste, TheDewWorm and 15 others like this.
Old 07/27/2011, 07:23 AM   #2 (permalink)

As a complete beginner to all of this - you could be speaking Greek!! (were you?). What will this do? Will it break my TP? Will I still get any OTA (i've picked up on this terminology - it's a start) updates that are pushed out? Obviously, I would like to learn much more ...... reassurance needed!
Old 07/27/2011, 07:38 AM   #3 (permalink)

Installing webOS Quick Installer will give you access to homebrew applications, patches and themes. These apps and patches are outside the HP app catalog. The webOS platform differs from the other mobile platforms in that HP/Palm acknowledges the work of the homebrew developers and has provided support to them.

You may want to consider installing PreWare as your first HB app.

Check out the Homebrew forums to get an idea of what is available:

http://forums.precentral.net/webos-homebrew-apps/

http://forums.precentral.net/webos-patches/

http://forums.precentral.net/webos-themes/