1.    #1  
    I apologize if this is a repeat. I couldn't find a similar answer via search.

I'm new to webOS and tried a demo at Best Buy of the touchpad. Since this is a wi-fi only model I had hoped it would connect to the ad-hoc wi-fi network my cell phone router transmits.

It couldn't find the ad-hoc network....Best Buy employees thought it might just not be showing up because there were too many networks in their location and it's likely a weaker signal.

Any thoughts?

Should it be able to identify an ad-hoc network? If not, bluetooth internet sharing?

Thank you in advance for any help!
    Can your phone transmit a regular wireless network? I, personally, am not sure if the TouchPad supports ad hoc.
    1 ghz Sprint Pre-
    Several members have reported using the hotspot or freetether on their webOS phones to connect demonstration unit Touchpads to wifi.

Welcome to PreCentral!
  4.    #4  
    i don't think so. I'll have to research a little more i suppose.

i wasn't aware that any phone could transmit anything other than ad-hoc?

Then again, I have never used a webOS phone.
    Quote Originally Posted by balogh.ashley View Post

I'm new to webOS and tried a demo at Best Buy of the touchpad. Since this is a wi-fi only model I had hoped it would connect to the ad-hoc wi-fi network my cell phone router transmits.

It couldn't find the ad-hoc network....Best Buy employees thought it might just not be showing up because there were too many networks in their location and it's likely a weaker signal.

Any thoughts?

Should it be able to identify an ad-hoc network? If not, bluetooth internet sharing?

I'm not sure, so don't quote me, but I really don't think the touchpad supports ad hoc wifi.