1.    #1  
    I'm a big PC builder and I have a fairly simple rule for my desktop, 1 major upgrade every 3 years, maybe a new gpu at the half way point just because I can for the most part. For the most part thats how long it takes before my higher end system starts to become dated and have to really work hard for lower levels of performance in most programs. Its not really until 5 years that a pc really becomes seriously dated.

My last laptop lasted 5 years before it gave up the ghost and became useless, mainly because I only ever really used it for documents and web surfing anyways as it had no dedicated graphics.

Now Android is the prime example but this also does apply to the iphone and the Pre phones. An Android phone is dated and quite likely isnt going to be updated to the next update or cant run the newest apps by the end of the same month it came out in (HTC promises a 6 month guarantee on updates). The iphone is updated yearly and each phone generally has a lifetime of 2 years for support, the Pre- got less than a year for official support.

My question is, Can I expect at least a 2 year window for the Touchpad/tablets or can we expect what seems to be happening with honeycomb and the ipad and have refreshes every 6 months (rumors of the iPad3 and Xoom2 coming out soon). Or is this simply because the hardware is still not mature enough and is evolving too fast for this to work. Because I do not want to be forced to upgrade every year with another $600 tablet just to run the newest angry birds addition .

Does it worry anyone else that we might see the trend of phones expand to a segment that is much more closely related to the computer, in my mind at least.
    Quote Originally Posted by dcbo89 View Post