Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Global Posts
    78 Global Posts

I'm a healthcare professional and knowing what WebOS can do I think it can do wonders within the medical field. The reason I think WebOS would be better than the ipad2 (not trying to bash apple here, just making a comparison), is the fact that we have cards. Having the ability to have cards for labs, patient history, medications, x-rays and being able to flow through them would make it a lot easier for the healthcare professional. Trust me, it's annoying to flip through charts or even click back and forth on the computer (You can even see it on the video, the way they're going back and forth on the ipad). Anyways, just a thought, just in case some HP person is reading this hahaha.
    Last edited by RPreH; 03/29/2011 at 05:48 PM.
    Can you look at a patient's medical records on an iPad? Or any mobile device? How do hospital IT departments secure data in those situations?

I knew that mobile devices (including old Palm PDAs, which were pre-HIPPA rules) could access med resources but was curious about med records.
    Global Posts
    78 Global Posts
    Yeah, they mentioned in the video that medical records and pt info would have to go through a ton of security and password protected issues but if hospitals now can set that up on a computer/desktop, there should be no reason why it can't be set up on a touchpad or any other tablet for that matter. They also mentioned in the video that if an ipad were to get stolen, there would be a way for IT to completely erase all patient information on the ipad. I think it's very very doable, the main issue is educating nurses, doctors, pharmacists, technicians, etc on how to operate WebOs, which I don't think would be a problem at all.
    Quote Originally Posted by RPreH View Post