Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1.    #1  
    I want to start off by saying that I am quite excited about the new touchpad despite the name and despite the lack of gesture area, WebOS was almost designed for tablets.

HOWEVER, the 2 main missing things that for me together are killers and make the TouchPad a lot less appealing.

The first is the lack of an HDMI output. This thing is more than powerful enough to fuel full1080p and I'd love to hook this device right up to a HDTV and play video and show off my photos, etc. I will be pained greatly if it lacks this, its so basic too.

The second isnt as big probably for as many people but for myself it is rather I need a full SD card slot on a device this size. I'm a photographer and I travel a lot, I'd love to be able to quickly take the stick out of my DSLR stick it into my tablet to review and manage my photos right on the spot. If not a slot I need some way to get my photos off my camera directly without needing a computer in the middle

If the tablet lacks both these features I most likely will not be buying one when they come out. If it only lacks one I will likely still buy one. Does anyone else have "requirements" for the touchpad?
    An SD-card slot would be nice, but also (obviously) introduce a hole to the hardware build. Personally, I'd have been much more thrilled by a standard USB slot and USB Host mode on the TouchPad. That would really have been something NEW.

As for HDMI, I totally see your point but I'd really much rather have DLNA compatibility. The age of cables, for me personally, is over. Give me a phone or tablet that doesn't open up anywhere but syncs wirelessly and has all wireless connectivity standards down pat over a charger cable, a headphone cable, a PC connector cable and a HDMI cable any day. IMHO, Palm was on the right track there and HP keeps following it