webOS Nation Forums >  webOS Devices >  HP Pre 3 > webOS Doctor HOWTO?
webOS Doctor HOWTO?
Like Tree6Likes
  • 1 Post By bellonsn
  • 2 Post By ananimus
  • 2 Post By Anastasia
  • 1 Post By Anastasia

Old 02/14/2013, 04:47 AM   #1 (permalink)

Hi all,

I'm an owner of a Pre3 since it was released and I'm very happy with it. However, recently it crashes a lot, i.e. it either freezes completely or restarts itself etc. I am not sure whether it is a hardware problem or a software issue.

That's the reason why I think I should doctor the Pre3 and try whether the problems disappear. However I have never used the doctor before. Is there a HOWTO or some instructions of what to do in which order? E.g. what preparation of data backup do I have to do before doctoring? Do apps from the HP catalog have to be installed again or are they automatically installed after doctoring? What about my accounts (contacts, calender, etc.)? Are they automatcially restored via HP's backup or do I have to set them up again? What about Preware? I assume that I have to install Preware and all patches again via WebOS Quick Install.

So, before starting the doctoring I'd like to make sure I have prepared everything and not miss something.

TIA,
Stefan
bellonsn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02/14/2013, 04:56 AM   #2 (permalink)

Also, whether best to 'Doctor' to V.2.2.3 or V.2.2.4 may be of some relevance at this juncture for you?
Mutoidi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02/14/2013, 05:17 AM   #3 (permalink)

you could have a look at HP's site Palm Support : Using HP webOS Doctor

You could also have 'quick' read of Nation of Excess Doctoring

Doctoring is very easy to do, but the first time is always a bit nervy as you have this nagging doubt it could fail. There are however very helpful and dedicated people on this forum who will try to get you going again.