webOS Nation Forums >  webOS Devices >  HP Pre 3 > HP Palm Pre 3 vs Pre 2. What are your thoughts?
HP Palm Pre 3 vs Pre 2. What are your thoughts?
Like Tree2Likes

Old 01/26/2013, 04:05 PM   #1 (permalink)

I currently have an HP Palm Whatever Pre 2. Was considering "upgrading" to the Pre 3, but I'm not sure it would actually be an upgrade as I have no experience with Pre 3. I currently use a stock Pre 2 which seems to be working well in all respects. Sure, 3G speed isn't fantastic, but that's not really the fault of the phone, per se.

What would you think are the pros and cons of Pre 3 vs Pre 2?

Is it worth spending some dough to upgrade (couple hundred bucks, more or less), or not so much? Why or why not?
stockjock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/26/2013, 05:24 PM   #2 (permalink)

I personally dont think the pre 3 is a huge performance upgrade but does offer several pros over the pre2. I do own both and these are my opinions of both.
The pre3
it has a better screen, bigger and higher ppi so the text is more crisp.
I think the battery last a little less
The keyboard remains clickyer longer
The slide is way better built
Feels thinner
and has 4g
it also has a front facing camera so you can use it for skype video calls
better back lit keyboard
noise canceling mic for better calls
Auto focus camera*
(camera focus makes noise)

The Pre2
Back is easier to get off
soft touch plastic is less of a finger print magnet
full focus camera*

* The camera is a pro on both because it depends on the use, auto focus camera is good for taking your time to take a pic of something and great for text, while the full focus camera is great for quick pics that would not have time for focus but cant take pictures of text.

I'd compare the pros i gave you and see if you will be using the extras of the pre3, and in the software department there is nothing new between then.
mattmers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/26/2013, 07:54 PM   #3 (permalink)