webOS Nation Forums >  webOS Devices >  HP Pre 3 > Is anyone using a Pre 3 on T-Mobile?
Is anyone using a Pre 3 on T-Mobile?
Like Tree4Likes

Old 10/22/2012, 10:17 PM   #1 (permalink)

If so how does it work and do you think it would pick up as a smartphone? I personally want to try it but I think I would give it to my fiancee after I had my fun with it. She doesn't have a smartphone or data on her plan, but I'm hoping if she didn't use the data it would just register as a basic phone.

Sent from my ADR6410LVW using Tapatalk 2
touchthatpad106 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10/24/2012, 10:45 AM   #2 (permalink)

No clue on T-Mo there were some folks running webOS devices on T-Mo but I think most of those posts I have seen were Pre2s.

I can say AT&T see's the phone as a dumb phone, would guess that since it's unlocked T-Mo wouldn't require a data plan for the Pre3 but I have no experience with them. Just make sure you turn off data so you don't incur any additional charges.

Also one thing to think about if you really don't want to get a data plan, many of us have had less than perfect WiFi on the Pre3... Pre2, Veer, and original Pre all have much better WiFi.

I do love my Pre3 though, been my daily use phone for a year.
I love physical keyboards... but there is two devices that would make me consider a slab, one is something running a full version of Open webOS. The other is an iPhone!!!! HA HA just kidding (about the iPhone that is)...
OldSkoolVWLover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10/24/2012, 01:04 PM   #3 (permalink)

my wife and I both switched our pre3s to t-mobile and they would start randomly rebooting - as many as 15 times a day - yuck. Thought it was a phone issue but after doing some research, found that was a common complaint on t-mobile. Switched to at&t and haven't had the rebooting problem. I can't speak to the question about it being seen as a smartphone.
mc25mc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10/24/2012, 04:21 PM   #4 (permalink)