Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree4Likes
  1.    #1  
    Good morning everyone. Have a question about cdma v gsm on the pre 3. As i understand it the 3 is a world phone correct? If so does it matter if I get a verizon branded model or can any unlocked pre 3 be activated on verizon?
    Global Posts
    507 Global Posts
    I'm not an expert, but as I understand it, the at&t Pre 3 (which I own, use, and like, by the way!) uses a GSM SIM card, which will not work with Verizon, which is CDMA (as is Sprint, for example). On the other hand, the Verizon Pre 3 has both Verizon's CDMA, and a GSM SIM slot, so it MIGHT work with at&t. One last caveat though... As I understand it, the Verizon Pre 3 is not 4G (HSPA+), where as the at&t Pre 3 is.

So I suppose it depends on what you want... The at&t Pre 3 will work with any carrier that uses a compatible SIM, and will get 4G if that carrier uses the same frequencies. It will not work with a CDMA carrier (U.S.: Sprint, Verizon). The Verizon Pre 3 will work with Verizon, AND with carriers using a GSM SIM card, but does not offer 4G.

I trust that someone more knowledgeable than me will come along and verify or correct all this!
    -carldc

m500>T3>T|X>Treo 755p>Pre>Pixi>Pre 3>Galaxy S4 Mini>Galaxy Alpha>Galaxy S8
    ..........................................TouchPad............Surface Pro
    PalmOS-------------------webOS-------------------Android (just waiting for webOS to rise again!)
    Luckily I am actual pretty good in this stuff. I am pretty sure that you would need an AT&T version. Luckily they are much cheaper compared to the Verizon kind.
    The Verizon one actually came with a GSM card installed.
    KA1
    Visor Deluxe->Visor Prism/Digital Link->Treo 650->Treo 700p->Pre->GSM Unlocked Pre 2 (wifi only)->FrankenPre + Touchpad 32 ->+ Touchpad 4G ATT + ATT Pre3 + 64 White Touchpad... bliss.
    As I remember, the Verizon Pre on works with Vodafone abroad. And I'm not sure its possible to get it unlocked.