I just found that even remove the exchange email account, somehow the settings are still stored somewhere (in the profile?). Is there any way to remove the settings completely without doctoring the phone?
Here is what happened to my phone. Our company out source email service to Intermedia recently (the exchange server/settings...are different to the old one, but email is still the same). But after I remove the email account, and add the new account with the new settings, the Pre3 will some how pull the old settings from somewhere and use it. And it ends up displaying 'server certificate is not trusted' error.
At very beginning I think it's the Intermedia server certificate issue. But after I found that this exchange setting is still showing me the old exhcange server settings, I suspect that it might not Intermedia server certificate issue. So I use my wife's Pre3 to add my new company exchange settings (Intermedia settings). It did work and syn to the new Intermedia server successfully. I am pretty sure now that somehow the old settings are cached and stored somewhere. So when the same email account is used (though the exchange server settings are different now), the old settings will be retrieved and used.
I wonder if there is any way to resolve this issue without doctoring my Pre3.