Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree5Likes
  1.    #1  
    Well, I love the touchstone but have hardly used it on my Pre3 because any of us with them know the back is curved differently and it doesn't sit as well. I can't remotely use it in my car anymore as it'll slide right off around a turn. Rather than try and curve the touchstone I thought to make an add-on.

It so happens I'm a architecture student currently and have access to a laser cutter and the 3D skills to fabricate something...

So, the boring details:
    1) I roughed an outline of my phone on some paper by sketching the silhouette.
    2) Scanned that.
    3) Traced it in the program and did a few simple 3D operations to make an approximate form of the phone.
    4) Made section cuts to essential "rib" it around the phone and touchstone shape. Had to connect and trim stuff up here.
    5) Extrude that... and we have a concept!

Here's the result:

Link instead: http://img804.imageshack.us/img804/7...uchstone31.jpg

Have any feedback? I would have to test it out on some plastics for thicknesses and stuff. Then maybe give it some room for some foam/felt lining to not scratch.
    Last edited by xwing; 12/15/2011 at 06:37 PM. Reason: picture foolery
    blah image blocked... upload to your user profile if you have a minute
    I love physical keyboards... but there is two devices that would make me consider a slab, one is something running a full version of Open webOS. The other is an iPhone!!!! HA HA just kidding (about the iPhone that is)...
  3.    #3  
    bah humbug... silly forums. Replaced it with an uploaded image from the forum. Gave the original link too. Probably should have used my own hosting if it didn't require logging in.
    Global Posts
    564 Global Posts
    Looks good in principle.