Like Tree2Likes
  • 1 Post By eblade
  • 1 Post By justsharp
    Global Posts
    180 Global Posts
    I've been using a pre 3 on t-mobile for the past 2+ months. Today I looked down on my phone and saw a 3g icon in the top right rather than my normal edge one. I went to mobile speed test and downloaded a 1 megabye file in 5.1 seconds. Tried it again and got 4.5, seconds (1.9 kbit/s). Has t-mobile added new bands? What's going on here?
    according to wikipedia (not trustable, i know) Pre3 (UK & ATT) uses 2100mhz band which is also a T-mobile 3G(fauxG) band. this is for T-mobile USA. i'm not sure how it all works though, as t-mobile (USA) should then theoretically be compatible with EU 3G bands and people were saying its not
    Omg I left tmo for not having compatible 3g on my pre3. What I know is they use aws bands for 3g. So 2100 for upload and 1700 download (or the other way around I forgot) the EU pre3 doesn't have the 1700. So maybe they introduced new bands actually!
    ok. that would explain why it shouldnt work. interesting to find out how the OP has 3G. Also can OP confirm country? i am guessing USA with the info given but it could be UK T-mob (like me with full 3G)
    Ya I would assume its the US as the rest of the world has pretty much unified GSM standards. Funny that you only find these unique (read: annoying) differences in the US
    The "Global Standard for Mobile" unfortunately came about some time -after- the US and Japan had already developed their networks.
    Author:
    Remove Messaging Beeps patch for webOS 3.0.5, Left/Right bezel gestures in LunaCE,
    Whazaa! Messenger and node-wa, SynerGV 1 and 2 - Google Voice integration, XO - Subsonic Commander media streamer, AB:S Launcher
    (1:39:33 PM) halfhalo: Android multitasking is like sticking your fingers into a blender
    GO OPEN WEBOS!
    People asked me for a donate link for my non-catalog work, so here you are:
    Vistaus likes this.
    Global Posts
    180 Global Posts