Global Posts
    20 Global Posts
    I have a pre 3 (2 of them in fact) that no longer have working speakers. The issue started when I replaced the volume control ribbon on both because they tore from catching the slider while opening the keyboard.

The odd thing is that the headset and volume control works now ( but only with the headset). Bluetooth works well as well. I'm an expert with removing and replacing PCBs so I don't believe I've damaged any connectors, wires, etc.

Does anyone know what might be happening? I tried resetting, reinstalling webosdoctor and pulseaudio but nothing. I hooked up a volt meter to a working pre 3 then put it on speaker mode to see if a working one would register and it did. However, in these 2 phones there's no voltage going through the speaker connector located on the back bottom side of the pre 3.

If anyone has disassembled and reassembled a pre3 please let me know if you ran into any similar issues.

Thanks.
    Global Posts
    20 Global Posts
    Speaker problem solved!!

After a week of trying things and disassembling the whole phone 3 times I finally figured out why the speaker didn't work and found an easy fix.

After taking the phone apart I found that the speaker sits on top of 2 spring type connectors. These are fine but on the circuitboard just a quarter inch above the spring connectors are 2 extremely tiny and fragile miniature coils that are almost microscopic. The connect the speaker circuit to the main board and are extremely easy to break and lose. In fact, the speaker magnet had picked them both up. They are likely inductions coils to help with noise reduction but they really don't make a significant different.