Global Posts
    195 Global Posts
    Hello all,

My name's Evan, I'm a high school student from Winnipeg Manitoba looking to purchase my first smartphone. I've always envied the webOS devices since they debuted it 2009, I loved the original Pre, the Pre Plus, the Pre 2 and now the Pre 3. WebOS is quite a sophisticated OS, and I love its full multitasking abilities.I'm a bit disappointed that webOS has been abandoned by HP, but I do believe that it has hope, whatever brand it ends up with.

Anyways, because I love webOS so much, I've been looking on eBay for an unlocked version to use on my local network (on a side note, would eBay be my best bet for finding one?). My network, MTS, isn't my network of choice as there's currently no LTE, but there is non the less HSPA support and it's quick enough for me. The main reason that I'd like to go with them is their cheap student plans.

According to this page:
    Using Non-MTS Devices | MTS
    MTS uses a UMTS/HSPA 850/1900 network, so by looking at the Pre's specs it (should?) be compatible. Can somebody verify this? I'm still a bit unclear...
    To be compatible, what version would I need? An unlocked version from the UK, an AT&T version that's been unlocked, or something else? Also, what's this about the APN number? Sorry for all of the questions, although I know a fair bit about smartphones I'm not too familiar with networks.

I believe that there's another Winnipeger on the forums, perhaps he could offer some advice, especially if he's had experience with MTS in the past.

Thanks everyone,
    -Evan
    an unlocked at&t pre3 should work just fine for you, at full speed. the screens to enter the apn info provided on the page you linked are all available in the phone app preferences.

in short, an unlocked at&t pre3 will work just as well on MTS as any other phone will. do not buy a european pre3, as it will not work as well since it lacks the 850mhz radio band.
    Global Posts
    195 Global Posts