webOS Nation Forums >  webOS Devices >  HP Pre 3 > UK Pre 3 GPS issues
UK Pre 3 GPS issues
Like Tree1Likes

Old 09/30/2011, 06:35 AM   #1 (permalink)

Hi, I've been searching for any info on this and found none, so thought I'd make a post.

I'm new to webos and just got a pre 3 here in the uk, it's great, but my biggest problem with it has to be the GPS responsiveness. The maps app spams 'your current location is unavailable' notifications at me, and I can't get a location fix for a long time (5-10 minutes), sometimes never, even outdoors. That can't be normal, can it? When there finally is a location fix, it doesn't update at all unless I restart the app, making it utterly useless as a navigation device.

Do I have a bad unit, or is that normal for the Pre 3? When i was searching around for info I found that the pre 2 had really bad gps, is that the case for all you pre 3 owners too?
Is there anything I can do to improve the gps performance?
safetravels is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09/30/2011, 06:42 AM   #2 (permalink)

i'm also in the UK and i used to have this problem a lot with my Pre +. i have a pre 3 now and i find that it very rarely happens to me, it seems the GPS is a lot better.

i guess what i'm saying is "works for me!", i'm sorry to say.

does a reboot fix it for you?
gastr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09/30/2011, 07:04 AM   #3 (permalink)

Ah, I've rebooted so many times, no luck unfortunately. I got it from mobiles.co.uk, so getting a replacement would be a massive pain as I'd have to send it back and everything, if there even are replacements available that is...
thanks for your info, anybody else have any feedback?
Old 09/30/2011, 07:33 AM   #4 (permalink)