Global Posts
    45 Global Posts
    From all the comments, it seems that very few people understand (or care about) the business strategy behind what HP just did. As a business owner myself, I think it is genius. It’s a bold move indeed, and I can't wait to see how it all plays out!

HP did not announce hardware yesterday. That was just eye candy…a diversion if you will. The ‘wow’ announcement was at the end. HP went ‘all in’ on a bold move to literally change the face of computing for years to come. Sound like a familiar storyline? (hint: Apple)

Ok HP, you now have my attention.

Here’s why I’m going to make an investment in HP:
    1. HP has been around, and has been very successful for years. They are not stupid.
    2. As the world changes, companies need to change if they want to avoid going out of business (ie, IBM used to be a meat slicing company, then computers, now ‘business solutions’).
    3. The phone market is a very tiny part of the overall HP portfolio (almost a joke). They are not concerned with phone sales dropping. They’ll let it happen, big deal.
    4. HP bought Palm for the OS, not the phones. Most people love the Pre and the idea because of the OS, not necessarily the phone itself (as seen by 80% of the posts here).
    5. HP knows that unless they artificially throw money at the phone market, they won’t be able to have a phone that actually “wows” the consumer. They’d look silly trying to keep up with the neighbors next door. Why waste money and be runner-up for years to come?
    6. HP makes modest moves to keep themselves in the game (incremental upgrades and platforms to develop their OS), and keeps the consumer mildly interested. They’re not worried about losing a few fans, or making a few people upset...for now. They are making their move.
    7. They decide to proliferate WebOS on millions of computers worldwide over the next 2-5 years.