1.    #1  
    I've purchased a Treo650 with VerizonWireless service for work. I did the 450min plan with $45 unlimited data, an SMS plan, wireless phone protection, ends up costing around $100/mo (work pays for $80 of that ). I'm porting my old phone# to it. I'm currently using Nextel w/ Motorola i730 and I am definitely looking to move up.

I haven't actually received the phone yet, should be this week I guess. I know I'll want to use Wireless Sync but the big deal would be PPTP VPN access and SSH (I'm a Unix sysadmin). How's everyone's experience been with this type of setup?

Any other things I should be aware of? I was disappointed when I found out (after I submitted the purchase) that the Treo650 doesn't support EV-DO, but I guess I don't *really* need that anyway, and at least 1xRTT is everywhere around the whole area I live. (I live in southern PA, work in Baltimore MD)

I'm a little spooked with what I'm hearing about the Treo650 resetting a lot or having goofups... someone said Verizon's latest firmware update resolves a lot of problems, should I see about getting that on there (if it's not already) the moment I get my phone set up?

My reason for picking the Treo was that I want to replace my Palm m505 and cellphone with one device. The main Palm feature I use is the Auterra OBD-II software I purchased a year or 2 back (http://www.auterraweb.com/) though I definitely will have to buy an RS232 hotsync cable for the Treo to use that.

It sounds like the first order of business will be getting the phone set up and working with my old #, verifying 1xRTT works, then I'll have to buy Mergic (PPTP VPN) and get pssh installed. I guess after that I'll want to investigate the web stuff and using AIM.
    I just want to get the thing already and play with it darnit
    Global Posts
    380 Global Posts