1.    #1  
    I am going to Australia for 2 weeks and am a Sprint 650 user. I want to have a phone while I'm there for calling the US and possinly do some limited surfing (check scores, etc..).

I was thinking of picking up a cheap GSM phone on eBay or somewhere.

Anyone have any recommendations for me. I have never traveled internationally in the last 10 years so I am kind of new at this.

Thanks for the advice!
    My Sprint T650 was clear as a bell in NZ this spring. My mother was impressed when I called her in CT from Mt. Ngaraou (sp??) on the north island for Mother's day .

Not sure if AUS has CDMA or GSM, but if they have CDMA, you can activate INternational roaming and it works pretty darn well, albeit $1 US a minute...
    Australia does have CDMA (mainly used out in the rural areas). The provider is Telstra. Do a search on"Telstra" and you should find some information. I seem to recall that it is not compatible. But I am not too sure. I mainly focus on the GSM band.
    Australia is GSM whereas New Zealand has both (at least according to Verizon's charts). So therefore you will need to get a phone. I've rented from these people before:

http://www.cellhire.com/
    In my "phone renting" experience in the Caribian Islands, renting seemed to be a much beeter value (if money is a concen)
    da Gimp

Please note: My spelling sucks and I'm to lazy to check it.
    Just to confirm Australia has Both CDMA & GSM. You can check www.telstra.com for CDMA details. GSM is a bigger market & you can buy prepaid SIM at any store around incl. post office & then you can keep topping up via credit card/phone. Using prepaid you'l be on line as soon as you walk out of the shop..

I can lend you an old 6310i if you want - I'm in Sydney
  7.    #7  
    WOW! Thanks for the great info and offer. I think I am fine with the phone. My only question is if I buy a SIM card, how does data work? Is it just treated like minutes?

Thanks again!
    Quote Originally Posted by mgnyc11