Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1.    #1  
    I regularly check in to many of the Treo forums, but this is my first time posting here and I (obviously) wanted to get the best advice possible.

My dilemma is this: my trusty Treo 270 finally gave up the ghost last month (yes, the hinge!), and I saw this as the perfect chance to snag a new 650 for myself. My contract with Cingular expires mid-September too, and I thought I could do a renewal deal and hopefully get one for under $300. Then, I read that a Windows Mobile Treo is just around the corner, and so too might be a newer Palm OS Treo 6xx (Cobalt). What is the real truth to these rumours?

I have no first-hand experience of WinMB at all (other than hearing a couple of field service guys cuss it out at work!), and truly liked everything that my 270 could do for me. However, if I renew my Cingular contract and buy a Palm OS 650 in the next couple of weeks, am I going to regret not going month-to-month should a newer Palm Treo materialize? Also, am I in a stronger bargaining position with my carrier now vs. waiting until next year?

I truly don't have a feel for the timing of new product releases vs. carrier availability, so don't know how long it would take for a new Treo to appear in the stores. And also, what the price might be? But, when I buy I tend to wear it out, rather than dump it each time a new model is available. Money's (not quite) too tight to mention.

Your suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
    I really like my Treo650. The only shortfalls are

1. better Bluetooth support (including A2DP for stereo music via BT)
    2. more RAM. It is a pain to have to install applications on the SD card, use 3rd part launchers etc.

If you don't use too many 3rd party software, then 2 is not an issue.
    I'd say .. go for it. Treo 650 has dropped in price quite a bit.