1.    #1  
    Hello,

I am sorry for crashing the forum like this but I recently purchased an unlocked treo 650 on ebay (I am a T-mobile subscriber and yadi yadi yada....) and although it said the unit was branded Cingular I thought it would just be a cosmetic branding and NOT all that cingular garbage extra stuff all over the place. The unit works fine and I am able to do everything (I am new at this so be nice...) but I know that my firmware should be upgraded (currently 1.05)

Can somebody tell me how to upgrade the firmware? I tried to upgrade with the palm patch for unlocekd GSM but mid way through the install it tells me the updater is not valid for this unit?

I also don't currently have a SD card, so can anybody explain how the upgrade without?

Thanks a bunch and "I already love the treo"
    if it's a Cingular phone...use the Cingular update
  3.    #3  
    It was a cingular evidently by the logo on the phone and the screen that pops up when I turn it on. It was unlocked though because I know have my T-mobile card in it. So you think I should just pop in the firmware update for cingular that's on the palm site? Wouldn's this screw up my unlocking code or whatever was done to it? anychance of somebody having a detailed post on how to upgrade?

Thanks
    I'm not a gsm user But am pretty sure I've that upgrading your firmware doesn't lock your phone. Read the upgrade thread from top to bottom...I bet it's been covered.
    Quote Originally Posted by nolatreo
    It was a cingular evidently by the logo on the phone and the screen that pops up when I turn it on. It was unlocked though because I know have my T-mobile card in it. So you think I should just pop in the firmware update for cingular that's on the palm site? Wouldn's this screw up my unlocking code or whatever was done to it? anychance of somebody having a detailed post on how to upgrade?

Thanks

See this post:

http://discussion.treocentral.com/sh...91&postcount=2