1.    #1  
    I'm upgrading to the Treo 600 soon, I read several posts about guys in the medical field using it as a pager besides the phone/PDA function. I'm a medical resident so my hospital gave me a pager, how can I setup my Treo to replace my hospital pager?
    I'm not sure about your carrier, but with Verizon, the end of a voice mail message gives the caller the option to leave a numeric message. This comes in as a TXT message.
  3.    #3  
    Thanks for the reply. but I was actually asking if I can setup the Treo so that I can use it instead of my official pager issued by the hospital, this means people can page me from inside the hospital system itself using my current pager #, but the message gets delivered to the Treo instead of the pager.
    Right. That's what would happen (again, I'm talking about Verizon).

Someone calls your phone number (that your Treo is assigned to). If it's not answered (your choice, and you can use programs like CallFilter to send calls from unknown callers, or certain known callers, or any number of rules directly to voice mail.

The caller gets a message (default or your personal). "To leave a callback number, press 5". The person pressed 5 and is prompted to enter a phone number. After they enter it, there's a promot to verify. Once it is verified, it will be sent.

Then you get a text message on your Treo telling to "Please call xxx-xxx-xxxx".

Once at the text message, you can select the phone number and dial directly.

So not quite as simple as a "normal" pager, but with the added features that the Treo brings, it serves it's purpose and much more.

Just port your pager # to your Treo (if you can). If not, you'll have to give out your new pager number.
    Quote Originally Posted by ledo1611