1.    #1  
    I was just thinking of drawbacks to purchasing an unlocked Treo 650 and the subject of insurance and warranties came up. Since you would not normally purchase an unlocked phone from the carrier you will be using the phone with, are insurance programs to protect you from when a phone is broken or loss/stolen?

Another thing I was thinking about were the potential drawbacks of using a phone that is not officially supported by your carrier. For example, if I were to by an unlocked Treo 650 and use it on T-mobile's network (let's say they are not carrying the 650), would I have full functionality of the 650 on T-mobile's network? Also, would the carrier you are using the unlocked phone on support you if you have any issues with the phone (hardware or network issues)?
    Global Posts
    821 Global Posts
    I am not an expert, but as I understand it, the "oficially supported" version is a non-issue. In the past this had an impact, but now, when you're connected to the network the phone is configured automatically. At least I have never had to do any type of setup (using TMo with Data Access).

I do not think the insurance is based on locked or unlocked, just your carrier and the device you use. My sister had a T600 replaced on Sprint, and I have insurance on my 600 (no claims yet).
  3.    #3  
    I do not think the insurance is based on locked or unlocked, just your carrier and the device you use. My sister had a T600 replaced on Sprint, and I have insurance on my 600 (no claims yet).