1.    #1  
    Hey, I was hoping someone could give me some GPS info. I'm just starting to learn about this. The first basic question is, do I need a monthly service plan with any GPS 'provider'? If yes, how much do they cost? If not, how is this possible?

Also, how does this work? I mean, if I'm in North Dakota with no cell coverage, will it still work? Or does it need cell towers to work properly?

Finally, what's the best software to use, and generally speaking, how much memory does it require on my palm? Does it "speak"? Can it "live track" where you are? I've rented a car once with GPS, and it was pretty cool to have the thing say "turn left in 1/10 of a mile...."

Thanks!!
    <a href="http://www.terriblemovies.com">TerribleMovies.Com</a>
    It costs nothing to use GPS. I believe the GPS satellites were provided by the military originally and right now has open access to everybody. I could be wrong though.

GPS requires a separate piece of hardware, and in the case of the Treo 600, the only option is a GPS mouse that connects to the port on the bottom of the phone. The most popular one is the i.Trek. If you do a search for that name, you should find other threads here discussing GPS and the Treo. Just searching for GPS will provide a lot more discussions on this topic.

Right now, the best software for the USA appears to be Mapopolis, and I would assume it has maps for other areas of the world. I know some other GPS software is available in Europe and tend to only have european maps.

The latest Mapopolis beta added SD card support, so that opens up the amount of space you have available for maps to the size of your memory card. The amount of memory used really depends on how many maps you have loaded and how large the maps are. Certain areas of the US have large maps, such as LA. A version of Mapopolis does speak the directions.

The exact reason to use GPS is to track your current location live.
    Global Posts
    306 Global Posts