Like Tree4Likes
  • 1 Post By MudShark22
  • 1 Post By Misj'
  • 1 Post By Preemptive
  • 1 Post By Remy X
  1.    #1  
    So the trial has begun, where Apple is accused of crippling rival mp3 players from playing the music they purchased on the Apple App store....

As an Apple customer (iPods, iMac, iTunes, etc.), who also owns other devices (cough, cough, Palm), I'm not happy with their behavior (and bravo for Palm, for refusing to agree to Job's threat to not compete for employees).

I'm no lawyer, but as far as I can tell:
    1. When Apple bought the parent company/product for iTunes, several legacy devices could play music purchased from the store.
    2. having a monopoly is not illegal
    3. but using a monopoly (iTunes music store/App Store?) to encroach on another business (mp3 music players/smart phones/iPads) is potentially illegal
    4. Apple, to protect their mp3 music player business, forced ALL iPod users to upgrade just to break Palm/other music players

I just want the truth out there. And frankly, there were only a few million of us Palm users, so Apple's actions only had a minor impact on us, but it actually had a bigger impact on millions of non-Palm users, who were forced to update/reboot, just to lock out a competitor. I think there were 3 patches, times all the 2004 itunes users. times all the patch/reboot time... it adds up.

Any legal folks out there? Is this a real issue?
    KA1
    Visor Deluxe->Visor Prism/Digital Link->Treo 650->Treo 700p->Pre->GSM Unlocked Pre 2 (wifi only)->FrankenPre + Touchpad 32 ->+ Touchpad 4G ATT + ATT Pre3 + 64 White Touchpad... bliss.
    Not really, I think Apple has a right to DRM any music they sell so that people would just buy an iPhone or iPod. Apple should be able to sell whatever they want to whoever they want, and they can make it work with whatever devices they want. They want people ONLY using their things, not competitors devices
    HP Think Beyond event link