1.    #1  
    Hi there, friendy forum people.

I'd like to understand the capabilities of SMS with my new Treo. For a start, where's the best documentation? The questions I'd like to answer include -

To whom can I send SMSs to, and who can I receive them from? Which phones, providers, bands, countries, etc?

What's the SMS message center number? Where do I find out what it's supposed to be (it's already set, but the principle is important). Can I send SMSs to an email address - how do I find out an SMS email center number?

Is there, in turn, an email address someone can send short mail to so I get instant notification on the treo?

Colin
    Global Posts
    59 Global Posts
    Hi there,

Just got my Treo yesterday and I'm very new to SMS myself.

Here are a few things I've figured out:

You can use SMS to send to regular internet addresses (joeblow@yahoo.com) by entering 121 for your SMS email center number (Part of your SMS preferences). 121 is for Cingular, I believe, 500 is for Voicestream.

You can also receive internet messages if your friends send an email to xxxxxxxxxx@mobile.mycingular.com (the x's are your 9-digit number). I've tried sending messages to myself this way and it works.

Not too sure about who else you can SMS though.

Have fun!
    (note this is OT, i at first didn't realize this was a "SMS and Cingular" thread. apologies)

For voicestream, I have verified that you can send SMS messages to:

-other voicestream customers by entering the VS mobile number.

-any email address by configuring the SMS app to have the correct email center number (500 i believe)

and, yesterday i verified that you can also send SMS to

-any *AT&T* customer (NOT just at&t gsm, but the whole at&t network) by entering the mobile number