1.    #1  
    Hello,
    I am new to the pre and have been trying to root the pre. I was able to root to it the other day and install mytether, but ever since then I have had no luck. I followed all the instructions for rooting and installed all the necessary programs. I plug in my pre and click just charge. I then open CMD prompt, and paste in
    cd \program files\palm\sdk\bin

and then it shows me:
    C:\program files\palm\sdk\bin\>

and then when i put this command in: novacom -t open tty://

my CMD window freezes and I unable to do anything, I have to do a hard shutdown on my computer in order for it to work. This has happpened twice now. I also tried novaterm and when I click connect, it freezes and i am unable to end the task, access my task manager or anything and it also resulted in a hard reboot.

Does anyone know what is wrong, I tried searching this forum for similar problems as well as google and have found nothing similar. Could someone please share what I am doing wrong. Thanks, I appreciate any help on this matter.
    Quote Originally Posted by mwittkopp89 View Post
    Hello,
    I am new to the pre and have been trying to root the pre. I was able to root to it the other day and install mytether, but ever since then I have had no luck. I followed all the instructions for rooting and installed all the necessary programs. I plug in my pre and click just charge. I then open CMD prompt, and paste in
    cd \program files\palm\sdk\bin

and then it shows me:
    C:\program files\palm\sdk\bin\>

and then when i put this command in: novacom -t open tty://

my CMD window freezes and I unable to do anything, I have to do a hard shutdown on my computer in order for it to work. This has happpened twice now. I also tried novaterm and when I click connect, it freezes and i am unable to end the task, access my task manager or anything and it also resulted in a hard reboot.