1.    #1  
    So I will be picking up my pre this evening (upgrading from an instink) I am just wondering what I would be missing if I don't root the phone or if this isn't even really necessary anymore with the release of new apps and such.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated, i want this phone to operate at it's full potential.

~TIA
    Mike
    Well your last line said it all. If you want to use it to its full potential, enable linux access. People need to stop making it out to be some great feat... it's really not that hard to copy/paste code from a walkthrough that literally takes baby steps through the whole process.
  3.    #3  
    Yeah I'm not really worried about the process. I've worked in IT for the last 10 years so I'm not too technically challenged. I just noticed that in the rooting your pre thread that it said to check the homebrew section before considering rooting. So I didn't know if that meant that things have come a little further since launch and you could fullfill your needs with an app vs. rooting. Just trying to make sure I'm not doing things that aren't necessary to get the phone were it should be.
    I think someone else said it best, rooting doesnt mean much outside of taking over administrative rights of the software. What you do ONCE you root your Pre is the big issue! Some things have you modifying files and such.

I want to root mine...one day maybe after I overcome my reluctance...and install that tethering hack.
    Global Posts
    52 Global Posts
    I enabled Linux access just under 48 hours ago (purchased Pre on launch weekend). One major advantage is not having to connect via USB. I use a SFTP client to move files wirelessly using the Touchstone from my laptop to the Pre. I then use a SSH client to copy the files once again wirelessly to the directories available for USB (ringtones, DCIM, etc). I use my wifi connection at home for updates. I have looked at, but haven't implemented, dynamic dns over EVDO.