1.    #1  
    Hi folks,

July 1st we get 10 new employees, all newly minted intern physician trainees. Most of our trainees have PDA's, but few take full advantage of how helpful they can be in medical practice. I have a proposal to change that by giving all 10 new trainees a Palm (either Centro, 750, 755, or T-E2, depending on what administration approves, if anything). I am a doctor, not a system administrator or tech support for anyone but myself, so what I want to do is set these new trainees off with a well-stocked PDA chock full of helpful PDA stuff (medical calculators, medical references, contacts full of all the physician beepers and hospital phone numbers, etc.) and then let them get to work. I envision that they'll take them home and make the PDA's their own, hotsync'ing with their home personal computer and using it creatively as they get more sophisticated in their medical training and practices.

Anyway, I have always worked on no one else's Palm PDA except my own. How would I set up 10 Palm PDA's to be fairly identical, and yet make them individual enough so that each trainee can take it home and set it up to sync with his/her own computer and use it as they will forever after? Literally, how would I load a wide variety of programs on 10 Palms, some of which require individual user accounts like ePocrates, and how would I load 10 identical sets of contacts into each?

And how would I have a chance of the trainees not screwing it up by overwriting the thing when they get home after day 1 when they try hotsyncing?!?

How plausible does this sound?

-- Josh
    You could set the contact up on one of them and then bean the contacts database to all of the other ones.