1.    #1  
    First off, what a great forum! This is my first time posting here. There is really a ton of great information on this site.

Unfortunately, after doing a fairly exhaustive search, I was unable to find an adequate answer to a question I have. And I apologize if this is a fairly primitive question. It is in regards to email access for the Treo devices.

I was simply wondering if it was possible to have email access in "real time" from the Treo devices. By real time, I mean: each time an email is received, are you alerted. Or does one have to turn on the phone, then open some browser and then log into an email account each time one wants to check their email? I'm not sure if the answer depends on the carrier to which the phone is attached.

To put things into perspective, my brother has a blackberry device which alerts him each time he receives an email. He can also immediately answer that email.

Although the blackberry would meet my needs as an emailing device, it fails to meet various others. For instance, I will be starting my medical residency this summer and I would like to have a fairly powerful PDA device attached to my phone so as to be able to run various medical applications. I'm getting a bit sick and tired of having to carry around two separate devices (a phone and a pda).

Any help would be greatly appreciated!!!!
    If your email is through an Exchange Server, you can get push (realtime) email with Versamail (Versamail comes with the treo). IF you only have regular POP or IMAP email, you can set Versamail up to check your email every X minutes (I think the lowest is 5 minutes). Chattermail will allow some more realtime checking with IMAP provided the IMAP server uses the IDLE command.
    1 - Use EAS (versamail, chatteremail if you have the plugins)
    2 - Use Chatteremail with online account mode (Gmail IMAP for example stays logged in and gives you push email)