Global Posts
    747 Global Posts
    Eventually I'd like a phone that I can just 'settle' on as opposed to feeling the need to upgrade every 2 because an incremental upgrade is availible so I've begun looking at other phones since treo's seem to be doing this slow little progression dance.

The XDA Flame seems pretty much like the perfect phone, although it's missing a keypad.

http://i30.photobucket.com/albums/c3.../xda_flame.jpg

2 megapixel camera with flash, 520 mhz cpu, 128 megs ram, 2 gigs rom, microsd, built in gps, nvida goforce built in gfx card, wifi, usb, tv out, hdsurround sound support, bluetooth 2.0, fm tuner, front facing camcorder for videocalls over UMTS with a 3.6 in VGA display.

Cost 1200, US.

Were I slightly richer (I am a poor college student who refuses to touch his savings), I would consider putting some serious cash on this if it were quad band (it is only tri, which sucks) and had a keyboard (I refuse to bust out a travel keyboard to simply reply to a text message-although speech to sms would be perfect for this phone). Windows mobile 6.0 instead of 5.0 would be nice too, but I've no doubt 6.0 will reach this device as well.

Anyway, this got me to thinking. Everyone here wants a perfect device-some of your needs are definitely met by this device as far as specs go, but how much would you be willing to pay for a treo like this? Perhaps palms future purchaser decides to keep their consumer-placating treo's but also release 'ultimate' treos as well. Do you see a demand for a device like this? The treo seems to have the form factor that a lot of these beefy phones lack.
    Quote Originally Posted by Stihl View Post
    but how much would you be willing to pay for a treo like this?
    Nothing.