Hello.

I am currently (very extremely desperately) seeking developers for help with a project to bring external storage support to Palm devices. Although I am an experienced programmer and have worked with hardware development, I am not experienced with PalmOS hardware development.

Yes…financial compensation is available.

The project is to bring support for USB host mode to Palm devices as a means of reading external storage devices.

There are two means by which this could possibly be accomplished. The first being primarily through software. Most new palm devices, such as the LifeDrive and treo 600, 650, 680 and 700p use the PXA-270 chipset. The PXA includes USB host capabilities, but they are not implemented in these devices. Whether or not these capabilities could be enabled through software, or whether they have been disabled on a lower level remains to be seen. However, this method would be preferable, as it would only require a small adapter to connect a USB device.

The second method would be to use an external hardware adapter to act as a bridge, serving the data to the Palm device, and supporting USB host mode. Such a device could be produced from something such as a Linux embedded controller.

The benefits of such capabilities are enormous, and include some of the following:

- Backing up data to thumb drives
- Transferring digital photos from cameras that do not use SD cards
- Transferring photos from cameras with SD cards, without having to swap cards
- Sharing media or information with others
- Downloading online music (using the wireless capabilities of the Palm device) and transferring it to iPods or other media players
- Reading data off of external hard drives
- Adding full jukebox entertainment capabilities to the Palm