Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1.    #1  
    or do you really need one? curious. we here on treo central are a VERY SMALL sample of the pda user universe although i'm sure we're heard. i work in the finance industry which is predominantly Blackberry-centric and which has recently adopted Treos as well. i work for a company that has offices globally and whose employee base is probably inside of one-thousand. we support both (no, i am not an I.T. individual) devices. i also know what "our" needs are and what most of the users use/do with their devices. for the most part, we're all email/phone/data reliant, email being the focus. most all of those who travel also carry laptops but most can get by with their handhelds until they arrive at either hotel/offices. none of us use them to read expansive spreadsheets or power point presentations, we do need to be able to read word/pdf type documents. they are mainly used to communicate by phone or typewritten form, internet accessability is also needed. having said that,

-does this describe you or your firm's needs?
    -how different are your business needs beyond those above?
    -do you have a choice as to which device you carry/own?
    -do you own a Treo just because it allows you to watch TV/videos on it?

or better,

-if you share the same type of needs as above, why own an oversized PDA such as a Treo/6700/large blackberry when you don't have to?
    I needed it to get more organized, and for email and web browsing when away from my laptop. I don't even watch media on my Treo.

I found other devices that do the same thing with a more updated OS and hardware, hence my name change.

So I no longer necessarily need a Treo, but just a really good smartphone that I'm comfortable with. I still have it but am getting tired of the old Palm OS more than anything else. The form factor still works for me. But that's about it.