1.    #1  
    Hello - I am new to the Treo world, and will be purchasing my first one next month. I have a few questions about usage -

1. If you are on a call, and someone sends you and email at the same time, can you place the call on hold and view the email, and then return to the call?

2. If you are on a call, and need to access an Excel spreadsheet, can you place the call on hold, open the spreadsheet, and then return to the call?

If this capability is possible, it it already part of the phone's software or does it require third-party software.

Thank you in advance.
    Yes and Yes, POS uses suspend and resume, but if i can remember correctly you dont even have to put the phone down but its been a while since i used my 650 so my memeroies are getting rolled into the one with the Kjam.
    Nokia 3210 > Nokia 3310 >Palm Vx > Palm M105 >Treo 180g and Nokia 8850 > Treo 270 > Treo 600 > Sony TH55 > Tapwave Zodiac 2 > Treo 650 GSM > Imate KJam > Treo 750v

Formerly Known As PRANKSTAR
    how will email comes in if you are on a call when other person sent email??? Am i missing something here??
    Technological superiority has never won a product battle. If that were the case we would all be flying in supersonic Concordes and using Apple computers.

The key to winning the battle is a combination of price, convenience, marketing, sound business model and a bit of luck.
    with a gsm phone your email will still be fetched or pushed if you are on the phone. cdma to bad so sad, unless you have the the 700p and evdo. While on the phone you can continue to talk and check out the spreadsheet look at the email or even play a game if the conversation is let's say from your wife and she is nagging you about spending to much time with your new girlfriend (aka new treo) True multitasking with the palm os is not there programs are suspended as you swap to another, but your phone itself will work and you can continue talking while moving through applications

Hope this helps